Flag EFP

4 December 2021

December 30 is deadline for submissions for Jaccard-EFP Research Prize in Periodontology

Categories: Clinical Practice, Institutional, Science

December 30 is deadline for submissions for Jaccard-EFP Research Prize in Periodontology

The deadline for submissions for the Jaccard-EFP Research Prize in Periodontology is fast approaching and the EFP reminds interested periodontists that their manuscripts need to be submitted by December 30.

The prize, which will be awarded at EuroPerio10 in Copenhagen in June 2022, is open to all members of the 37 national societies of periodontology affiliated to the EFP. Three prizes will be awarded: the winner of the first prize will receive an award of CHF10,000 (€9,229), while the second prize is worth CHF6,000 and the third prize CHF4,000.

Research submitted for consideration must not have been published previously or presented at any meeting. Manuscripts should be prepared according to the instructions to authors of the EFP’s Journal of Clinical Periodontology (JCP), in which the three winning entries will be published.

Submitted papers will be evaluated by a panel of five judges comprising Panos N. Papapanou (JCP editor-in-chief), two JCP associate editors, one member selected by the EFP’s executive committee, and a member of the EuroPerio10 organising committee.

This panel will select three papers to be presented at EuroPerio10, where the eventual winner will be decided by the jury based on five evaluation criteria: (1) significance for periodontology, (2) innovative character, (3) scientific quality, (4) the quality of the paper, (5) the quality of the oral presentation at EuroPerio10.

Candidates should send their manuscripts by email in pdf format to Mónica Guinea, EFP co-ordinator, at monica@efp.org before December 30, 2021. Full details on the application procedure can be found on the EFP website: Jaccard-EFP Prize for Periodontal Research.

The Jaccard-EFP Prize of Periodontal Research was created in 1995 by the EFP and the Jaccard Foundation (University of Geneva) to promote periodontal research in Europe. It is awarded at the EFP’s triennial EuroPerio congress.

The first prize in 2018, awarded at EuroPerio9 in Amsterdam, went to the paper "Time between recall visits and residual probing depths predict long-term stability in patients enrolled in supportive periodontal therapy", by Christoph A. Ramseier, Martina Nydegger, Clemens Walter, Gabriel Fischer, Anton Sculean, Niklaus P. Lang, and Giovanni E. Salvi.

Photo: Christoph A. Ramseier (right) receiving the 2018 research-prize certificate from Phoebus Madianos, chair of the jury, at EuroPerio9.

You are currently offline. Some pages or content may fail to load.