Flag Greece

1 June 2022

Hellenic perio society invites entries for biennial prize

Category:National Activities

Hellenic perio society invites entries for biennial prize

The Hellenic Society of Periodontology and Implant Dentistry (HSP) has invited submissions for its biennial Fotis Mitsis prize, which is awarded to young periodontal scientists.

The prize is named after Fotis Mitis (1927-2019), professor emeritus and former dean of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, in recognition of his major contribution to periodontology.

The prize seeks to encourage, support, and promote young dentists’ scientific activity in the field of periodontology. It is open to Greek, Cypriot, and other expatriate dentists aged up to 32 who have proven training and knowledge and who have made a contribution in periodontology.

Candidates for the prize – which comprises a monetary award of €1,500 and an honorary diploma – should have successfully completed the first stage of postgraduate studies in periodontology. Those eligible include graduates from the postgraduate programmes of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens and the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, as well as candidates trained at other recognised universities that provide specialisation in periodontology.

The jury will apply four evaluation criteria in assessing the candidates:

  • Ethos and personality.
  • Studies in the field of periodontology (seminars, congresses, day seminars as well as continuing education related to the speciality).
  • Scientific activity.
  • Prospects of contribution in the field of periodontology and in the HSP.

Candidates must submit the following material: Full CV; reprints of scientific work; documentation of studies, training, etc; and a minimum of two letters of recommendation.

Candidates should submit their applications with the appropriate documentation by email to the HSP at helperio@periodontology.gr by July 12. The evaluation committee will meet within 30 days of that date and the winner of the prize will be announced at the HSP’s inaugural scientific meeting of the new academic year on September 30.